Neatorama!

Warning: this post contains blatant self interest & promotion of NLS collections 😉

I was thinking about Christmas presents the other day.  I was of course doing this thinking in my lunch break (honest Boss)!  One should never think of festive gifts while, for example, writing a little script to do a global edit on your entire MARC database as it could get very, very messy and in the worst case scenario may convince Santa that you’ve been quite bad and don’t deserve a visit from him.  But I digress ….

So in my lunch break I was reading my RSS from Neatorama a great blog full of silly present ideas like the Zombie wall decals and Crime scene scarf.  On Neatorama I found these beautiful prints of Scottish mountains and rivers.

Comparative view of the heights of the principal mountains of Scotland.

Comparative view of the heights of the principal mountains of Scotland. From John Thomson

Comparative view of the heights of the principal mountains of Scotland.

A comparative view of the heights of the principal mountains of Scotland.

So I’m thinking Hmmm I know someone that would love to have a copy of these prints for Christmas.  I wonder where I can get them? So I’m clicking away and find myself on the lovely BibliOdyssey which is a blog full of beautiful illustrations from books and Wow! they say that the atlas where these prints are from is in NLS.  More clicking and I find that the NLS copy of John Thomson’s Atlas of Scotland has been digitised.  What’s more NLS offers a service to print digital copies.

So that’ll be Christmas sorted then.  Eh … I mean … my knowledge of the NLS collections and services enhanced, and yours too.

Until next time ….

Gill

Leave a Reply

